• Home
  • Art
  • ARTPOP: Gaga’s two year-long project leaks and no one’s mad about it
ARTPOP: Gaga’s two year-long project leaks and no one’s mad about it

“Makin’ love in my sex dreams”

Oh Gaga, how I adore thee. And it’s here, guys! Well, unofficially. After way too long of a wait and the sad news there would in fact be no more Born this Way production due to a slight hip complication (do we ever really understand how this one manages to tour in nothing but heels no matter what?), ARTPOP has definitely leaked just days before its anticipated 11/11 release.

But no one’s really too upset about this, not even the Artpop Queen herself who said she “know[s] it’s out and [she] doesn’t care. [She’s] so excited ARTPOP is finally out there, enjoy my little babies.”

The two year-long project that’s been goin’ down in The Haus of Gaga aka Gaga’s headquarters is polished to a near perfection, and of course it’s f*cking amazing. I think beat-wise this is the most complex Gaga has experimented since her Fame Monster debut in 2009, and the record as a whole feels like a time-traveling trip through the disco age in songs like “Artpop” all the way to present day hip-hop jams like “Jewels N’ Drugs” (feat. T.I. and Twista!).

If anyone caught Gaga’s October interview in Elle last month you’d know the multiple efforts it took just to collaborate and make this one official: dance, art, theater, classic training. You know, all the necessities it takes to make a great pop album.

We’ve already heard little teases from Artpop like “Aura” in the Machete Kills trailer (though they failed to play the song in the actual film, which was sort of a disappointment) along with Gaga’s performance at the iTunes Music Festival in London. And when she revealed “Dope” at the YouTube Music Awards at midnight yesterday, it was clear this album would easily be this year’s new favorite (sorry, Bangerz).

Artpop requires a thorough listening in full, both in the car AND on your stereo headphones to really sink in the album’s dance-worthy effects and rather precise sound mixing.

Enjoy, monsters!


1. “Aura” – $
2. “Venus”
3. “G.U.Y.” – $
4. “Sexxx Dreams” – $
5. “Jewels N’ Drugs (feat. T.I., Too Short, and Twista)”
6. “Manicure” – $
7. “Do What U Want (feat. R. Kelly)” – $
8. “Artpop”
9. “Swine” – $
10.  “Donnatella”
11. “Fashion!”
12. “Mary J. Holland”
13. “Dope” – $
14. “Gypsy”
15. “Applause”

$ = Money Jams

Trackback from your site.


Kaitlin Duffy is a writer from Cleveland. When she's not blogging or pondering the great complexities of the world and outer space, she is finding rare vinyl steals, visiting new places, laughing often, Instagramming everything in sight, watching movies, or working on her first feature Port de Cleve.